Penalties for first offense Driving Under the Influence (DUI) in Kentucky can be harsh, particularly if there are any aggravating factors. Even accomplished criminal defense attorneys can fail to understand the intricacies of DUI law. That’s why it’s important to work with a lawyer with specific DUI experience who is able to navigate the many unique issues. Kentucky takes seriously the prosecution of those accused of driving under the influence of alcohol or drugs. If you are arrested for suspicion of DUI you will be given an opportunity to contact a lawyer, and it is important to make an informed decision before taking a breath or blood test. If you are charged with DUI, the potential penalties depend on the circumstances of your case.
Penalties for a First Offense DUI in Kentucky With No Aggravating Factors
Under Kentucky law, penalties for first offense DUI include:
- A fine between $200 and $500. Court costs and other fees will also be imposed, substantially increasing your financial obligation.
- Jail time of up to 30 days.
- License suspension from 30 to 120 days. An alcohol/drug education program must be completed before the license will be reinstated.
Penalties for Aggravated First Offense DUI in Kentucky
Penalties for First Offense DUI are increased if any of the following aggravating factors are involved:
- Driving 30 miles per hour or more over the speed limit.
- Driving the wrong way on a limited-access highway.
- Causing an accident that resulted in serious injury or death.
- Driving with one or more minor passengers under the age of 12.
- Driving with a blood alcohol content (BAC) of .15 or higher.
There is a mandatory minimum jail sentence of four days when a person is convicted of an Aggravated First Offense DUI.
Ignition Interlock Devices
Once installed in a car, an Ignition Interlock Device will prevent the car from being started until the driver has given a breath sample. In some circumstances, a person convicted of DUI can apply for an ignition interlock license that will allow them to drive a car during the period of license suspension as long as the car has an ignition interlock device installed.
Impact of a DUI Conviction on a Commercial Licensed Driver
Drivers with a CDL will have their CDL suspended for one year if convicted of a DUI, even if they are not driving a commercial motor vehicle at the time of the DUI. There are defenses to a DUI charge even if a breath or blood test is over .08. It is important to have the services of an experienced DUI lawyer who is familiar with how to challenge the test results and other issues uniquely related to DUI charges. If you need a DUI attorney in Kentucky, contact Edwards & Kautz at 270-908-4914 to schedule a free legal consultation. The attorneys at Edwards & Kautz will fight to ensure your rights are protected and your case is fully defended.